Sheehan Appointed to Texas Optometry Board

Ty Hunter Sheenan has been appointed by Governor Abbot to the Texas Optometry Board. The Board is a State Agency, the mission of which is to promote, preserve, and protect the health, safety and welfare needs of the people of Texas by fostering the providing of optometric care to the citizens of Texas through regulation. The Board establishes policy, adopts substantive and procedural rules, and assists with the examination of licensure and enforcement activities for the protection of the public.

Board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate to serve for a six-year term. The full Board consists of nine members: six members are practicing optometrists and three are public members. Ty was appointed as a public member.

News Archive